2017 Candy Cane Winners Announced

2017 Candy Cane Winners Announced

Congratulation to Jerri Kaufman who won $1,000 in Candy Cane Cash and Amy Young who won $500 in Candy Cane Cash that can be spent at the 24 participating businesses.

The 2017 Christmas promotion organized by the McPherson Chamber of Commerce and McPherson Main Street for their members has resulted in some very impressive numbers. With 24 member businesses participating, shoppers were awarded a stamp for every $10 spent in those stores. Each time a shopper earned 5 stamps they were able to fill out a registration slip and enter the drawing for two Candy Cane Cash shopping sprees valued at $1000 and $500. “We were excited to be able to add an additional $1000 to the prize fund this year, and hope that helped generate more local shopping,” stated Ann Engel, McPherson Main Street director. Engel also noted that the overall report from the local retailers was very positive with some stating that this had been their best season in many years.

The results of the 2017 Christmas promotion were 7,570 registration slips turned in, representing $50 each, with a total of $378,500 spent locally during the Christmas season in these 24 locations. “This year has surpassed all previous years’ Candy Cane Cash dollar figures” stated Jennifer Burch, McPherson Chamber of Commerce director, “Not only were the sales up, but registrations were recorded from 105 Kansas communities and 11 different states which was also an increase from previous years totals.”

2016 – 25 businesses, 5,640 registrations/$282,000
2015 – 22 businesses, 4,306 registrations/$215,300
2014 – 26 businesses, 6,900 registrations/$345,000

The winners of the 2017 Candy Cane Cash will be able to spend their winnings at the 24 participating businesses, whose support of this promotion was greatly appreciated.